Job Adverts
Member Login


Forgot Password - Forgot Username
For Media

ESSA Statement: Exercise & Sports Science Australia Congratulates its New Vice-President to the National Board

After holding its Annual General Meeting in May this year, which involved the voting in of new President Elect, Dr Kade Davison, the role of Vice-President became a vacancy on the ESSA National Board. Exercise & Sports Science Australia (ESSA) are pleased to officially announce its new Vice-President, Ms Kirsty Rawlings.

“The role of Vice-President plays a significant role within the ESSA National Board, supporting the President in overseeing the work of the Board and in representing the organisation to internal and external stakeholders. I am very pleased with the announcement of Kirsty’s appointment,” says ESSA Chief Executive Officer, Anita Hobson-Powell.

Kirsty has been involved with ESSA since 1998, as a member initially, before going on to Chair the South Australian State Chapter and supporting the organisation through her involvement on the Exercise Physiology Advisory Group (EPAG), with the reviewing of ESSA grants/awards and delivering professional development.

Kirsty brings a range of skills and experience in executive leadership, corporate and clinical governance, strategy development, risk management, and stakeholder and member engagement to the role of Vice-President, to continue to support the vision and objectives of ESSA. 

Since joining the National Board in 2016 as a Director, Kirsty has been an integral part of the board, contributing significantly to the strategic pathway and goals for ESSA and its members.

 “Kirsty has played an active role within the organisation for quite some time, both as a Director and an ESSA member. Kirsty is also ESSA’s first female Director to hold an executive role and this is evidence of the growth of our ESSA National Board and membership and highlights Kirsty’s inspiring leadership within our industry.”

Current President, Mr Nathan Reeves, will officially step down from his role on the 31st December, 2017, with Kade and Kirsty stepping up in 2018 to lead the ESSA National Board moving forward.